From 1923 to 1928 the building formerly on the site of the modern day Cheneys Lodge in Sutton Road Seaford was owned by Leo Cheney a well-known cartoonist and illustrator. Leo Cheney died in 1928 and is buried locally at Seaford Cemetery. Leo Cheney was born in Accrington in 1878, where he attended the local Grammar School before becoming a bank clerk. He was the first pupil to enroll on Percy Bradshaw's cartoon correspondence course, and went on to sell cartoons to publications such as Boy's Own Paper and Bystander. He later became staff cartoonist on the Manchester Evening News.
He is remembered as the creator of the most famous 'Striding Man' version of the Johnnie Walker character for John Walker and Sons Whisky. Cheney gradually modified the original rather rakish figure into a 'rounder and more sociable character', and these drawings appeared in advertisements in the Illustrated London News between 1915 and 1919. Even to this day, this logo is part of the iconic brand of whiskey.
Source: The National Archives